I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award.

I have been nominated for this award and am very grateful to Patrice at *Wild Currents https://wildcurrentsblog.wordpress.com/ for nominating me.

Here are the Rules.the-rules1

These are the questions she asked me. I have answered them in italics below each one.

What compels you to keep a blog?

I have always done my best thinking while writing. Part of blog-keeping for me is about processing what I have learned, experienced, heard or seen. Also, let’s face it: we could all use a laugh and I find a lot of things amusing and just want to share them.

What stifles your creative process?

Self-doubt seems to be the big crippler for me.  I wonder if I really have anything useful to say, if I am just being masturbatory in my writing or if I am committing the greatest of sins, being boring.

Tell me one thing about yourself that would surprise me.

If someone is over-enthusiastic about a book or a movie and tells me that I “have to see/read it!” I almost always develop a strong aversion to doing that very thing.

Dog person? Cat person? Neither? Both?

More a cat person than a dog person, but I am currently sharing space with an adorable brown Dobie and my two cats and finding it delightful.

Tell me something special about the place that you live? It could be your home, city or country.

I live on a friend’s 13 acres of conservation land in NH.  There is a strong little stream down below and a beaver dam. While I haven’t yet seen the beavers, I have seen a number of saplings scientifically gnawed off, so I have hopes of making their acquaintance soon.

Music is my therapy … recommend some songs for me.

Pink Floyd’s “Learning to Fly”.

Davy Knowles & Backdoor Slam’s “Hear Me, Lord”

Medieval Baebes’ “Dringo Bell” or “Trovommi Amor”

What book/books are you reading right now?

An Elegant Madness by Venetia Murray

The Meaning of Liff by Douglas Adams & John Lloyd

Introvert or extrovert?

An Introvert with Extroverted tendencies.  I love being with people and teaching and the like but it costs me energy that I need to replenish by alone time.

Do you listen to music when you write? What kind?

It varies.  Medieval Baebes, Richard Thompson, instrumental Celtic,meditation music on Youtube, etc.

Do you write in solitude or in public?

Solitude, although I am thinking of getting a laptop and trying out various coffee shops in the area.

Do you have a dedicated writing space?

I have a wonderful sunny office with my table, computer, mail holder and bird feeders for me and the cat to watch when seeking inspiration.

I nominate these folks (I don’t have 11 yet):

Juli Hoffman The Williamson Vampires http://julihoffman.com/

Christi Ellen https://christiellen.wordpress.com/

Shannon McKeogh  http://shannonmckeogh.com/blog/

Megan invisibleworldd.wordpress.com

Here are the questions I would love to have you answer:

  1. What was the best trip you have ever taken?
  2. Who is one transformative person in your life?
  3. Why did you start writing?  has the reason changed since you began?
  4. What makes you laugh?
  5. What makes you angry?
  6. Sing along with the radio or preserve an austere silence?
  7. Shower or bath?
  8. What is your dream destination? Where would you go if you had time, money and no responsibilities preventing it?
  9. What is the last book you read?
  10. How do you make a living?
  11. What is your favorite curse word?
One thought on “I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award.

Leave a Reply

